Expectations are very high for Germany as they host the Euro 2024. Germany have been famous for their ruthless approach against opponents, and they have a great history in football. The Die Mannschaft has won four FIFA World Cups and three UEFA European Championships.

But Germany have been trophyless in the UEFA European Championship since they won their 3rd title in 1996. Additionally, they have been going through a difficult time since they won the FIFA World Cup in 2014, defeating the current champions Argentina. Germany were eliminated from the group round in two consecutive World Cup events (2018 and 2022). They also ended their journey from the round of 16 in the last UEFA Euro 2020. Following their three disappointing major tournaments, Germany are very determined this time to win the Euro 2024.

Germany’s Squad

Manager Julian Nagelsmann has announced a 26-man squad for Germany ahead of Euro 2024. Germany are placed in Group A along with Scotland, Hungary, and Switzerland. Here is the full squad of Germany:


  • GK: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
  • GK: Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona)
  • GK: Oliver Baumann (Hoffenheim)


  • DF: Antonio Rudiger (Real Madrid)
  • DF: Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen)
  • DF: Robin Koch (Eintracht Frankfurt)
  • DF: Maximilian Mittlestadt (Stuttgart)
  • DF: Nico Schlotterbeck (Borussia Dortmund)
  • DF: Waldemar Anton (Stuttgart)
  • DF: Benjamin Henrichs (RB Leipzig)
  • DF: David Raum (RB Leipzig)


  • DF/MF: Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich)
  • MF: Ilkay Gundogan (Barcelona)
  • MF: Pascal Gross (Brighton)
  • MF: Robert Andrich (Bayer Leverkusen)
  • MF: Chris Fuhrich (Stuttgart)
  • MF: Aleksandar Pavlovic (Bayern Munich)
  • MF: Leroy Sane (Bayern Munich)
  • MF: Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
  • MF: Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich) 
  • MF: Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen)


  • FW: Niclas Fullkrug (Borussia Dortmund)
  • FW: Kai Havertz (Arsenal)
  • FW: Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich)
  • FW: Deniz Undav (Stuttgart)
  • FW: Maximilian Beier (Hoffenheim)


Since winning the FIFA World Cup in 2014, Germany have been going through a transition period. Many top and key players had retired after the World Cup in 2014. Philipp Lahm, Miroslav Klose, Per Mertesacker, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Lukas Podolski, and Mesut Özil were the key players in winning the World Cup in 2014. But they all have retired, which has been a massive problem for the Die Mannschaft.

The transition period following the 2014 World Cup has been tumultuous for Germany. The 2018 World Cup and Euro 2020 showed vulnerabilities in squad selection and tactics. However, Germany have replaced those experienced players with several fresh bloods. Players like Jamal Musiala and Florian Wirtz have been two of the most emerging players this season in European leagues. They could be the trump card for Germany in this Euro 2024.

Additionally, they have experienced midfielders such as Tony Kroos. Kroos has been one of the best players for Real Madrid this season in the UEFA Champions League. His passing range can destroy an opponent’s defense at any time.

The transition period for the Germany national football team post-2014 has been marked by the retirement of key players and the integration of new talents. While this phase has seen its share of challenges, the team is gradually rebuilding under new leadership, aiming to restore its status as a dominant force in international football, especially with the upcoming Euro 2024 on home soil.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *